Holy Week: Preparing our hearts for Easter

Standard

Last year I started a new tradition with our kiddos to help us celebrate Holy Week and to help prepare our hearts for Easter.  I wanted to teach them about some of the events that took place in the life of Jesus during his final week on this earth. I also hoped that it would help them to look forward even more to Easter and the celebration of His resurrection.

So, I did a little pinterest perusing and found several great ideas to help out with this project. ( I’m so thankful for the many other mommas out there who have come up with such great ideas and are willing to share them!) Using some of the ideas I found I was able to come up with a craft or project to do each day that went along with our scripture reading.  Of course, I am always excited anytime we can incorporate our Jesus Storybook Bible into any of these projects so I had to find ways to fit that in as well!

Here’s how our Holy Week went:

Palm Sunday -The Triumphal Entry 

We read from Mark 11:1-11 and Luke 19:28-44.  Our highlight verse was,

 “Hosanna! Blessed is he who comes in the name of the Lord.” Mark 11:9

For our craft the kids made a “palm leaf” with their hand print to add to our

banner for the week.

palm

Monday-  Jesus clears the Temple

We read from Mark 11:12-17 and our highlight verse was,

“My house shall be called a house of prayer.”  Mark 11:17

For our craft we drew a temple, a table, and the kids added coins

to the finished picture.

temple

wall2

Tuesday – Jesus teaches at the Temple

We read from Luke 19:47-48 and our highlight verse was,

“Your word is a lamp unto my feet and a light unto my path.”  Psalm 119:105

For our craft we made little scrolls and each kid got to put a special message on theirs. Then we added them to our banner.

scroll

Wednesday –  The Lords Supper

Jesus washes the disciples feet

We read from Mark 14:22-15 and John 13:1-5 and our highlight verse was,

“What I am doing you do not understand now,  but afterward you will understand.” John 13:7

We also read “The Servant King” from our Jesus Storybook Bible

wed

This day, in particular, was my favorite. As I read the story of Jesus washing the disciples feet and what that meant  I also told the kids that I wanted to wash their feet.

Now the ages of my kiddos at the time were 2, 4, 6, and 8 so I expected lots of giggles and “Eww’s”  and “No way’s” but that’s not what happened.  They were actually very surprised that I wanted to wash their feet and they each sat quietly watching me as I called them over one at a time to the water bowl I had prepared.  They each let me wash their feet and when I was finished they all wanted to wash my feet…and then each others feet!

feet

feet2

Thursday –  Garden of Gethsemane

Betrayal and arrest of Jesus

We read from Mark 14:32-50 and our highlight verse was,

Abba, Father, all things are possible for you. Remove this cup from me. Yet not what I will, but what You will. Mark 14:36

We also read “A dark night in the garden” from our Jesus Storybook Bible

For our craft the kids made praying hands to represent Jesus praying, flowers to represent the garden, and coins to represent Jesus’ betrayal.

thurs

Friday – The Crucifixion

We read from Mark 15:16-41 and our highlight verse was,

“Father, forgive them, for they know not what they do.” Luke 23:34

We also read “The sun stops shining from our Jesus Storybook Bible

For our craft the kids made a cross and a crown of thorns to add to our banner

fri

IMG_3277

Saturday – Jesus is Buried

We read from Luke 23:50-56 and our highlight verse was,

“Then he took it down (Jesus body) and wrapped in a linen shroud and laid him in a tomb cut in stone, were no one had ever been laid.”  Luke 23:53

This was another fun craft day, we made a tomb!  All you need is a tray of some sort, a tin can, some dirt, rocks, and sticks! How easy is that!  The kids loved gathering up the rocks and a few sticks. They especially loved getting to dig in the dirt to cover our “tomb” and they even picked a few flowers to decorate it with.  We picked out a special stick to represent Jesus, wrapped him up in cloth, placed him in our little tomb, and covered it with a large stone.

tomb

sat

Resurrection Sunday –  HE’S ALIVE!

We read from Luke 24:1-12 and our highlight verse was,

“He is not here, but has risen!” Luke 24:6a

We also read “God’s wonderful surprise” from our Jesus Storybook Bible

For our craft we made Resurrection Rolls and rolled away the stone from the tomb we made to see that it was indeed empty! Jesus is ALIVE!

rolls

alive

wall

This is our finished banner from the week.

This was a fun way for us to teach our kids about Holy Week and some of the things that took place during those final days of Jesus’ life leading up to His death, burial, and resurrection.  I think each day made them look forward even more to Easter and the celebration of the resurrection of our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ!

I hope some of these ideas help you to begin a little Holy Week celebration of your own!

Blessings!

About Leslie Lickey

I'm a stay-at-home wife and mom. I love the Lord and hope that each day I can become a little more like Him. I am a work in progress. I have an awesome husband and 5 amazing kids! I love painting, planning parties, decorating, crafty things, taking pictures, reading, and hanging with the family!

Leave a Reply

